Scroll Top


One of the most essential elements for survival
is the development of a greater sense of cooperation, of community,
of ability to work together for the common good.–Carl R. Rogers

AHP Past Presidents

Humanistic Psychology is often referred to as a “Third Force” Movement in psychology. It came into being in response to the mechanistic beliefs of behaviorism and the biological reductionism and determinism of classical psychoanalysis. Humanistic Psychology, therefore, is a contemporary manifestation of an ongoing historic creative tension in the field of psychology to affirm the inherent value and dignity of human beings. Some of the luminary founders of Humanistic Psychology and AHP include Abraham Maslow, Carl Rogers, Rollo May, Clark Moustakas, Charlotte Buhler, Gordon Allport, J. F. T. Bugental, Gardner Murphy, Henry Murray, Jacques Barzum, Rene Dubos, and Floyd Matson. These founders and AHP gave birth to what is called The Human Potential Movement. The now commonly held notion that we live in an interdependent world is an outgrowth of The Human Potential Movement.

Past Presidents of AHP include eminent, well known, and renown humanistic figures in the world such as James F. T. Bugental, Sidney M. Jourad, Charlotte Buhler, Jack R. Gibb, Stanley Krippner, Eleanor Criswell, Jean Houston, George Leonard, Virginia Satir, Lawrence LeShan, John Vasconcellos, Frances Vaughan, Maureen O’Hara, Arthur Warmoth, and J. Bruce Francis. It is a long list of prominent thinkers, scholars, authors, and cultural creators who have sought to bring to consciousness the value and dignity of the human being in the field of psychology and beyond. Listed below are some of the Past Presidents of AHP, presented in chronological order.